KIT-Department of Civil Engineering, Geo and Environmental Sciences

What can I study at the KIT-Department of Civil Engineering, Geo and Environmental Sciences?

At our KIT-Department you can choose a course of studies in the following areas:

In addition, you will find further links to contact points and to application at KIT, to the MINT college, and to offers for pupils.

Applied Geosciences

Sustainable use of the environment - on and underground

The basis of life for more than 8 billion people is only possible through the sustainable use of the underground.

Applied geoscientists are therefore in demand as experts for the future-oriented development, extraction, analysis and conservation of raw materials. This includes, in particular, the preservation of clean water and the supply of drinking water, research into alternative and environmentally friendly energy sources, the innovative storage of energy required for this, and the responsible recycling and disposal of materials.

Geoscientists are actively involved in shaping the raw materials cycle of the Earth's system and thus securing the future of mankind.

 

Civil Engineering

Building the environment - buildings and infrastructure to meet people's needs

Civil engineers plan, build and maintain buildings and infrastructure in an environmentally friendly, resource and energy efficient manner. They solve problems holistically, work in interdisciplinary teams, manage projects and communicate with all those involved.

At our KIT-Department, civil engineers are trained in all subject areas of structural engineering, water and environment, mobility and infrastructure, technology and management in construction operations, and geotechnical engineering.

 

BaustelleTMB (KIT)

Geodesy and Geoinformatics

Organizing the environment sustainably - we provide the basis

Our society is changing - climate change, digitalisation, connectivity, automation and Big Data clearly show this. Everything happens on our planet, everything requires geodata.

Whether it is the observation of changes in the Earth's system, the monitoring of structural safety, the renewal of our energy supply (e.g. hydropower or geothermal energy), the prevention of natural disasters (e.g. tsunamis, volcanic eruptions, landslides) or the planning of innovative industrial plants - experts from the fields of geodesy and geoinformatics are on site.

 

VermesserGeodätisches Institut (KIT)

Geoecology

Protecting the environment - geoecologists look at the big picture

The Earth's system is being changed by man in a disastrous way. More than ever, it needs clever minds and skills to do something about it.

We provide the competences for this: Geoecologists are natural scientists who understand ecosystems in all their complexity. So we don't just look at a part of the systems, but at how people, climate, plants and animals, soils, water, etc. interact.

From this understanding we find solutions to environmental problems - locally and on a large scale. Geoecologists are in demand: among others, in local authorities, non-governmental organisations (NGOs), in industry and in environmental research.

 

Personen beim Betrachten von PflanzenChristoph Neff

Geography (teaching profession)

Teaching the environment - teachers educate for sustainable development

Geography links scientific questions with social problems. The focus is on current challenges such as the causes and effects of climate change or population growth and migration. Space plays a central role here. Geographers ask why things happen where and what consequences result for people and the environment. They provide the basis for sustainable spatial planning and possible solutions to spatial conflicts.

Geographers are trained at our KIT-Department in the following main areas: "Specialized knowledge in the field of human-environmental relations", "Geographical methodological competencies", and "Specialized didactic and educational knowledge".

 

 

Foto mit Dozent und StudierendenIfGG

Regional Science

Regional Science is an empirically working science that analyses spatial structures and processes with the aim of organizing spatial uses in a compatible way, avoiding conflicts of use of space or developing adapted solutions for them. Its field of application is the spatial planning of all scales. It is based on a transdisciplinary approach using methods from the natural, social and engineering sciences. The special focus of the KIT Master's program in Karlsruhe is on the problems of underdeveloped regions of the global south.

 

Contact Points and Application at KIT

Information on studying at KIT and the most important contact points are provided on the KIT web pages "Prior to Studies".
Information on application is available on the KIT web pages "Application and Admission" (Website in German).

Line Plan for a Bachelor's Program at KIT

The KIT line plan (Line plan in German) gives you an overview of whom you can contact before and during the application for a bachelor's program at KIT, which phases and stations you can expect during your studies, and who you can turn to if you have any questions.

MINT-Kolleg

You are planning to take up a bachelor's program at KIT and are not sure whether your basic knowledge in mathematics, computer science, physics, and chemistry is sufficient? Then the MINT-Kolleg (Website in German) is the right place for you.

Offers for pupils

Especially for pupils, KIT offers information events on different study programs and workshops on the choice of a field of study. You will find all offers in the brochure (Brochure in German) of the Zentrum für Information und Beratung (zib).

KIT-Fakultät für Bauingenieur-, Geo- und Umweltwissenschaften

Was kann ich an der KIT-Fakultät für Bauingenieur-, Geo- und Umweltwissenschaften studieren?

An unserer KIT-Fakultät können Sie einen Studiengang aus den folgenden Bereichen absolvieren:

Zudem finden Sie auf dieser Seite weiterführende Links zu Anlaufstellen und zur Bewerbung am KIT, zum MINT-Kolleg sowie zu Angeboten für Schülerinnen und Schüler.

Studium Angewandte Geowissenschaften

Umwelt nachhaltig nutzen - Auf und unter der Erde

Nur durch nachhaltige Nutzung des Untergrundes wird die Lebensgrundlage für mehr als 8 Mrd. Menschen ermöglicht.

Angewandte Geowissenschaftler und Geowissenschaftlerinnen sind daher gefragte Experten und Expertinnen für die zukunftsorientierte Erschließung, Gewinnung, Analyse und Erhaltung von Rohstoffen. Dazu zählt insbesondere der Erhalt von sauberen Gewässern und die Versorgung mit Trinkwasser, die Erforschung alternativer und umweltschonender Energiequellen, der dazu nötigen innovativen Speicherung von Energie sowie dem verantwortungsvollen Recycling und der Entsorgung von Materialien.

Geowissenschaftler und Geowissenschaftlerinnen gestalten den Rohstoffkreislauf des Systems Erde aktiv mit und sichern damit die Zukunft der Menschheit.

 

Studium Bauingenieurwesen

Umwelt bauen - Bauwerke und Infrastruktur für die Bedarfe der Menschen

Bauingenieure und Bauingenieurinnen planen, bauen und unterhalten Bauwerke und Infrastruktur umweltschonend, ressourcen- und energieeffizient. Sie lösen Probleme ganzheitlich, arbeiten in interdisziplinären Teams, managen Projekte und kommunizieren mit allen Beteiligten.

Bauingenieure und Bauingenieurinnen werden an unserer KIT-Fakultät in allen fachlichen Schwerpunkten Konstruktiver Ingenieurbau, Wasser und Umwelt, Mobilität und Infrastruktur, Technologie und Management im Baubetrieb und Geotechnisches Ingenieurwesen ausgebildet.

 

Baustelle

Studium Geodäsie und Geoinformatik

Umwelt nachhaltig organisieren - Wir liefern die Grundlage

Unsere Gesellschaft ist im Wandel – Klimawandel, Digitalisierung, Konnektivität, Automatisierung und Big Data zeigen dies deutlich. Alles geschieht auf unserem Planeten, alles erfordert Geodaten.  

Ob bei der Beobachtung von Veränderungen im System Erde, der Überwachung der Bauwerkssicherheit, der Erneuerung unserer Energieversorgung (z. B. Wasserkraft oder Geothermie), der Prävention bei Naturkatastrophen (z. B. Tsunamis, Vulkanausbrüche, Erdrutsche) oder auch der Planung innovativer Industrieanlagen - Experten und Expertinnen aus der Geodäsie und Geoinformatik sind vor Ort mit dabei.

 

Vermesser

Studium Geoökologie

Umwelt schützen - Geoökologen schauen aufs Ganze

Das System Erde wird vom Menschen in desaströser Weise verändert. Es braucht dringender denn je kluge Köpfe und Kompetenzen, um etwas dagegen zu tun.

Die Kompetenzen dafür liefern wir: Geoökologen und Geoökologinnen sind Naturwissenschaftler und Naturwissenschaftlerinnen, die Ökosysteme in ihrer ganzen Komplexität begreifen. Wir schauen also nicht nur auf einen Teil der Systeme, sondern darauf, wie Menschen, Klima, Pflanzen und Tiere, Böden, Wasser u.a. zusammenwirken.

Aus diesem Verständnis heraus finden wir Lösungen für Umweltprobleme - lokal und im Großen. Geoökologen und Geoökologinnen sind gefragt: unter anderem in den Kommunen, Nichtregierungsorganisationen (NGOs), in der Industrie und in der Umweltforschung.

 

Personen beim Betrachten von Pflanzen

Studium Lehramt Geographie

Umwelt vermitteln - Lehrer und Lehrerinnen bilden für nachhaltige Entwicklung

Geographie verknüpft naturwissenschaftliche Fragen mit gesellschaftlichen Problemstellungen. Im Zentrum stehen aktuelle Herausforderungen wie die Ursachen und Auswirkungen des Klimawandels oder das Wachstum und die Wanderung von Bevölkerung. Eine zentrale Rolle spielt dabei der Raum. Geographen und Geographinnen fragen, warum sich wo welche Dinge ereignen und welche Konsequenzen sich daraus für Menschen und Umwelt ergeben. Sie liefern Grundlagen für nachhaltige Raumplanung und Lösungsmöglichkeiten raumbezogener Konflikte.

Geographen und Geographinnen werden an unserer KIT-Fakultät in den Schwerpunkten "Fachspezifisches Wissen im Bereich der Mensch-Umwelt-Beziehungen", "Geographische Methodenkompetenzen" und "Fachdidaktische sowie bildungswissenschaftliche Kenntnisse" ausgebildet.

 

Foto mit Dozent und Studierenden

Studium Regionalwissenschaft

Die Regionalwissenschaft ist eine empirisch arbeitende Wissenschaft, welche räumliche Strukturen und Prozesse mit dem Ziel analysiert, Raumnutzungen verträglich zu ordnen, Raumnutzungskonflikte zu vermeiden oder angepasste Lösungen dafür zu entwickeln. Ihr Anwendungsfeld sind die räumlichen Planungen aller Maßstabsebenen. Grundlage ist ein transdisziplinärer Ansatz mit natur-, sozial- und ingenieurwissenschaftlichen Methoden. Der spezielle Fokus des Masterstudienganges des KIT in Karlsruhe liegt auf den Problemen unterentwickelter Regionen des globalen Südens.

 

Anlaufstellen und Bewerbung am KIT

Informationen rund um ein Studium am KIT sowie die wichtigsten Anlaufstellen finden Sie auf den KIT-Webseiten "Vor dem Studium".
Informationen zur Bewerbung finden Sie auf den KIT-Webseiten "Bewerbung und Zulassung".

Fahrplan für ein Bachelor-Studium am KIT

Mit dem Linienplan des KIT erhalten Sie einen Überblick, an wen Sie sich vor und während der Bewerbung zu einem Bachelor-Studium am KIT wenden können, welche Phasen und Stationen Sie während Ihres Studiums erwarten sowie an wen Sie sich bei Fragen wenden können.

MINT-Kolleg

Sie planen, ein Bachelor-Studium am KIT aufzunehmen und sind sich nicht sicher, ob Ihr Grundlagenwissen in den Fächern Mathematik, Informatik, Physik und Chemie ausreicht? Dann sind Sie beim MINT-Kolleg genau richtig.

Angebote für Schülerinnen und Schüler

Speziell für Schülerinnen und Schüler bietet das KIT Informationsveranstaltungen zu verschiedenen Studiengängen und Workshops zur Studienfachwahl an. Alle Angebote finden Sie in der Broschüre des Zentrums für Information und Beratung (zib).