Outgoing Students - studying abroad

Should I stay or should I go?
Of course the general recommendation is to go as there are plenty of reasons for studying or taking an internship abroad during your KIT-studies. Studying abroad
  • gives you insight into new cultures, learning systems & work fields
  • improves your language skills,
  • strengthens your intercultural competencies
  • and opens up new international networks.
In addition, your stay abroad will contribute to your personal development. Young professionals are faced with international competition in the globalised job market with intercultural competence becoming increasingly important.

The idea of spending one or two semesters abroad sounds simple in itself. But a study stay or an internship abroad is a big personal challenge for any individual. Apart from language barriers, there are many other factors to consider: the study achievements in the different countries must fit together so that they can be recognised towards your degree. Learning agreements are drawn up to ensure this. Most exchange programs offer help with accommodation, language courses, and subsidise travel costs. And they also have special offices and administrators to help you. 

No matter what motivates you, whether you are planning to spend study time in South America, experience a semester at another European university, write your thesis abroad, complete an internship around Europe or simply take part in a seminar at a foreign university: the KIT-Department of Civil Engineering, Geo and Environmental Sciences maintains numerous partnerships within Europe and around the world with which you can connect to other locations and plan study-related stays.
So take this chance and spend an unforgettable semester or two abroad. The world is your oyster.

Recommended time for studying abroad during your studies at KIT

Bachelor

We recommend studying abroad after the end of the 5th semester at the earliest, after successfully passing a large part of the examinations. Additional modules or an industrial training (coordinated via KOOR Best) can be completed abroad. Writing the Bachelor thesis abroad is only allowed in exceptional cases and only in consultation with a lecturer of the department.

Master

Studying abroad during the Master's program is recommend for completing the technical supplementary subjects, additional subjects or the industrial training. Parts of the specialisation subjects or extended basics can be completed abroad, too. However, this must be agreed in advance with the person responsible for the specialisation subjects or, in the case of the extended fundamentals, with the lecturer. An examination schedule agreement is set and signed together with the learning agreement.

Which study achievements can I cover?

Bachelor

Electives and additional modules can be completed abroad, as well as the Bachelor's thesis in consultation with a department representative.

Master

Studying abroad during the Master's program: we recommend technical supplementary subjects and additional subjects first. It is possible to complete parts of the specialisation subjects or extended basics abroad. However, please consult your person responsible for the specialisation subjects or, in the case of the extended fundamentals, with the lecturer in advance.

What about language problems?

Don't let the language get in your way. The KIT-Sprachenzentrum offers a wide range of language courses. And every students gets one free course per semester. ERASMUS students also get a free language course at their partner university.

How complicated is it?
Of course it involves a certain amount of administrative work - after all, you want everything to go smoothly when you switch back and forth between two university systems. The first step is always to think about what you would like to do and then to find out what options are available (see below).  We've roughly planned out the process at the bottom of this page. It has become a lot easier since the process has been digitalised: the Mobility Online Portal keeps you updated with how far your plans are, what you still need in a step-by-step order, and always lets you contact the people in charge if you have any questions.
So it's not as complicated as you might think...

Opportunities for outgoers

Students and staff at the KIT-Department of Civil Engineering, Geo and Environmental Sciences have several possibilities to follow up on studying abroad. General information on the programs is available via the International Students Office for all KIT students and staff. 

European universities have developed various exchange programs to make it as easy as possible to pursue studies and internships abroad and therefore to promote exchange. Program-independent exchanges are possible, too:

ERASMUS Erasmus
ERASMUS+ studies

Study up to two semesters abroad around Europe

more
Erasmus Praktikum
ERASMUS+ internship

Take an internship abroad as part of your studies

more (INTL)
EPiCUR-Karte EPICUR
EPICUR
EPiDI EPiDI
eucor Eucor
Eucor

Five universities, three countries, one campus

more
freemover-outgoing Erasmus
free movers

Organise your exchange semester(s) in a non-European country on your own initiative

more (INTL)
overseas K.D.
overseas

scholarship-based exchange semesters abroad

more (INTL)

Outgoing Studierende - studieren im Ausland

Should I stay or should I go?

Die generelle Empfehlung ist immer go, denn Gründe für ein Auslandsstudium oder Praktikum gibt es viele. Ein Auslandsaufenthalt erweitert Ihr Profil durch ein internationales Erfahrungsspektrum in

  • anderen Lernsystemen und Arbeitsfeldern
  • Fremdsprachenkenntnissen
  • interkulturelle Kompetenzen
  • und ganz wichtig: Aufbau eines internationalen Netzwerks

Zudem geht mit einem Auslandsaufenthalt meist eine gestärkte Persönlichkeitsentwicklung einher. Und durch die Globalisierung des Arbeitsmarktes werden BerufseinsteigerInnen in einen internationalen Wettbewerb gestellt, in der die interkulturelle Kompetenz immer wichtiger wird.

Die Idee, ein bis zwei Semester im Ausland zu verbringen, klingt an sich einfach. Trotzdem ist ein Studienaufenthalt oder Praktikum im Ausland für jeden einzelnen eine große persönliche Herausforderung: Neben sprachlichen Barrieren gibt es viele weitere Faktoren zu bedenken, nicht zuletzt müssen die verschiedenen Studienleistungen in den verschiedenen Ländern zueinander passen, damit sie für einen Abschluss anerkannt werden können. Hierfür werden Learning Agreements erstellt, die dies absichern. In den Austauschprogrammen wird meist auch für Unterkunft und Sprachkurse gesorgt, Reisekosten werden bezuschusst und vor Ort gibt es besondere Ansprechpersonen.

Ganz egal, welche Beweggründe Sie leiten, ob Sie ein Teilstudium in Südamerika planen, ein Semester an einer Partneruni in Europa verbringen, an einzelnen Seminaren einer ausländischen Uni teilnehmen wollen, ein Praktikum in Europa oder Ihre Abschlussarbeit im Ausland schreiben wollen: Die KIT-Fakultät für Bauingenieur-, Geo- und Umweltwissenschaften pflegt zahlreiche Partnerschaften, in deren Rahmen Sie Ihr Vorhaben umsetzen und einen studienbezogenen Auslandsaufenthalt durchführen können.

Nutzen Sie also Ihre Chance und verbringen Sie ein unvergessliches Semester (oder Jahr) im Ausland!

Empfehlung zum Zeitpunkt des Auslandaufenthaltes

Bachelor

In den Bachelor-Studiengängen sollte ein möglicher Auslandsaufenthalt frühestens nach Ende des 5. Semesters stattfinden, wenn ein Großteil der Prüfungen erfolgreich abgelegt ist. Es können dann im Ausland Zusatzmodule oder ein Industriepraktikum (Koordination über KOOR Best) absolviert werden. In Ausnahmefällen und nur in Absprache mit einem Dozenten / einer Dozentin unserer KIT-Fakultät kann auch die Bachelor-Arbeit im Ausland angefertigt werden.

Master

Im Falle eines Auslandsaufenthalts während des Master-Studiums wird empfohlen, die technischen Ergänzungsfächer, Zusatzfächer oder das Industriepraktikum zu absolvieren. Es können auch Teile der Vertiefungsfächer oder erweiterten Grundlagen im Ausland absolviert werden. Dies muss aber vorab mit dem Vertiefungsfach-Verantwortlichen bzw. bei den erweiterten Grundlagen mit dem Dozenten / der Dozentin abgesprochen werden. Eine Prüfungsplanvereinbarung muss erstellt und unterschrieben zusammen mit dem Learning Agreement eingereicht werden.

Welche Studienleistungen kann ich abdecken?

Bachelor

Es können im Ausland Wahlfächer, Zusatzmodule oder ein Industriepraktikum absolviert werden, sowie in Absprache mit einem/einer Fachvertreter(in) unserer KIT-Fakultät auch die Bachelor-Arbeit.

Master

Im Falle eines Auslandsaufenthalts während des Master-Studiums können Module oder auch Teilmodule des Master-Curriculums nach Absprache mit den jeweiligen Modulverantwortlichen unserer KIT-Fakultät absolviert werden. Am einfachsten sind Technische Ergänzungsfächer, Überfachliche Qualifikation und Zusatzleistungen.

Nicht sicher, ob die Sprachkenntnisse reichen?

Lassen Sie die Sprache kein Hindernis sein! Das KIT-Sprachenzentrum bietet Kurse in den verschiedensten Sprachen an - ein Kurs pro Semester ist für Studierende sogar kostenlos. Ansonsten wird z.B. bei ERASMUS ein Sprachkurs vor Ort ermöglicht. 

Wie kompliziert ist es?

Natürlich ist es mit einem gewissen verwaltungstechnischen Aufwand verbunden - schließlich soll alles reibungslos verlaufen, wenn Sie zwischen zwei universitären Systemen hin und her wechseln. Der erste Schritt ist immer, sich Gedanken und Vorstellungen zu machen und sich zu informieren, welche Möglichkeiten es überhaupt gibt (siehe weiter unten). Alles weitere ist durch die Digitalisierung des Ablaufs erheblich einfacher geworden: Im Mobility Online Portal können Sie jederzeit sehen, wie weit es um Ihre Pläne steht, welche Schritte als nächstes kommen, was Sie noch benötigen und haben immer die Möglichkeit, die Ansprechpersonen zu kontaktieren.

Es ist also einfacher als Sie glauben...

Möglichkeiten für Outgoer

Den Studierenden und Mitarbeitenden der KIT-Fakultät für Bauingenieur-, Geo- und Umweltwissenschaften stehen zahlreiche Wege ins Ausland zur Verfügung. Allgemeine Informationen zu den Programmen erhalten Sie vom International Students Office zentral für alle KIT-Studierenden und Mitarbeitenden.

Um die Auslandsaufenthalte möglichst einfach zu gestalten und zu fördern, haben europäische Hochschulen verschiedene Austauschprogramme entwickelt, aber auch ein programmunabhängiger Austausch wird ermöglicht:

ERASMUS Erasmus
Erasmus+ Studium

Ein oder zwei Semester an einer Universität in einem anderen europäischen Land studieren

weitere Infos
Erasmus Praktikum
Erasmus+ Praktikum

Im Rahmen des Studiums ein Praktikum im Ausland absolvieren

weitere Infos (INTL)
EPiCUR-Karte EPICUR
EPiDI EPiDI
eucor Eucor
Eucor

5 Universitäten, 3 Länder, 1 Campus

weitere Infos (INTL)
freemover-outgoing Erasmus
Free Mover

Selbstständiger Studienaufenthalt für ein oder zwei Semester an einer ausländischen Hochschule

weitere Infos (INTL)
overseas K.D.
Übersee

Für ein oder zwei Semester an einer Universität außerhalb Europas studieren

weitere Infos (INTL)