Introduction of your Doctoral Convention

Welcome to the homepage of the convention of doctoral researchers at KIT-Department of Civil Engineering, Geo and Environmental Sciences

Brief Introduction: your doctoral "student council"

All doctoral researchers accepted at the department are part of the convention. It is represented by the elected board. It is the representation of interests with a guest seat in the department council and is available to the doctoral researchers of the department in an advisory capacity. Furthermore, one elected doctoral student is a member of the departmend council with voting rights.

Your elected board and your representation in the department council

Patrick Weber

1. Chairman

Christin Kannen

2. Chairwoman

Moritz Hille

Board Member

Jakob Boretzki

Boar Member

Annika Lidwina Schultheiß

Member with voting rights in the department council

You have a question? Contact us via doktorandenkonvent∂bgu.kit.edu

Current Projects

Flyer at the start of your doctorate or employment relationship
At the beginning of the work at KIT or for the beginning of the doctorate, you receive a lot of important information from many directions, e.g. from KHYS and the doctoral regulations. What is the "acceptance as doctoral candidate at the department" and what is the "application for admission to the doctoral procedure"? Why are they important? Who can I contact? Answers to all these questions and more will be available to everyone in a clear flyer in the future. The advisory board of doctoral researchers is takes care of this project KIT-wide, while the doctoral conventions of the individual departments contribute the department-specific information.
KIT-wide doctoral researcher survey
Every three years, all doctoral students of KIT, i.e. all doctoral researchers accepted at a departement, are queried in a large survey. The next one will take place this year, 2023. We are working with other KIT doctoral conventions to ensure that new topics that are important to all of us are included in this survey. These include questions about mental health as well as questions about power abusement. In addition, we want to shorten the questionnaire in general. We hope that through this collaborative project, we can help to better capture doctoral conditions so that we can make them better for everyone.
Vice speaker of the advisory board of the doctoral researchers
Not a project, but great news: Christin Kannen, our 2nd chair, has been elected as vice speaker of the advisory board of doctoral researchers! We wish her all the best for this new position!

Information

Enrollment for doctoral researchers
In December 2021, mandatory enrollment for doctoral researchers was also introduced at KIT. In principle, enrollment is mandatory for all doctoral researchers accepted by a KIT department, unless they are working full-time at KIT and declare that they do not want to be enrolled. For further information, please click here.
What exactly is the convention of doctoral students?

The convention of doctoral researchers of the Faculty of Civil Engineering, Geo- and Environmental Sciences is the association of all doctoral researchers accepted at the department according to § 38 para. 7 of the state university act as well as the resolution of the KIT senate of 17.11.2014. The convention elects a board once a year in a plenary meeting. This board actively promotes their interests, represents them in the department council and in the KIT-wide convention-meeting, and is available to all doctoral researchers for advice on questions concerning the doctorate.

With what concerns can you contact us?
  • Questions about doctorate registration at the department
  • Questions about further organizational steps
  • Suggestions for improvement of the general conditions of the doctorate
How do I find a doctoral position at the faculty?
We do not offer jobs. Usually, the application process is managed directly by the institutes and the associated professors. Certainly, it is a good idea to look at the job advertisements of KIT
Practical Links

Events

1. get-together at Pfannestiel april 2023
On the evening of April 26, 2023, the first get-together of the BGU doctoral students after the Corona pandemic took place in the Pfannestiel restaurant. Historically, there was already a get-together before Corona, but only among the civil engineers. From now on, this will be organized by the board of the BGU doctoral convention for the entire department. We were pleased to had almost 25 participants, who exchanged professional and interdisciplinary ideas in pleasant conversations. We also participated in the challenging Pfannestiel quiz. Even if the quiz success was missing in the end, the evening was great fun and we are already looking forward to the following get-togethers!
2. get-together at Pfannestiel july 2023
On the evening of July 11, 2023, the second get-together of the BGU doctoral students took place again in the Pfannestiel. Under an umbrella we braved the rain in the beer garden and experienced a very nice evening with almost 20 participants. Of course, we were again able to exchange professional as well as interdisciplinary information about teaching, research and all kinds of things that are relevant in the life of doctoral students. Many thanks for that and see you next time!
3. Stammtisch im Pfannestiel November 2023
The third get-together for all BGU doctoral students also took place on November 9 at the Pfannestiel. In a relaxed atmosphere, we were able to present the work of the convention board, make advertisement for future motivated members and generally discuss a wide range of professional and non-professional topics in the lives of doctoral students. Thank you very much for the wonderful evening, we are already looking forward to the next one!

Contact

Mail to the board: doktorandenkonvent∂bgu.kit.edu

Euer Doktorandenkonvent stellt sich vor

Herzlich willkommen beim BGU-Doktorandenkonvent!

Kurzvorstellung: eure Doktoranden-"Fachschaft"

Alle an der Fakultät angenommenen Doktorandinnen und Doktoranden sind Teil des Konvents. Er wird vertreten durch den gewählten Vorstand. Er ist die Interessensvertretung mit Gastsitz im Fakultätsrat und steht den Promovierenden der Fakultät beratend zur Seite. Darüber hinaus ist der Vorstand Teil des Beirats der Promovierenden, welcher im KIT-Konvent die Interessen der Promovierenden am KIT vertritt.

Euer gewählter Vorstand und Eure gewählte Vertretung im Fakultätsrat

Patrick Weber

1. Vorsitzender

Christin Kannen

2. Vorsitzende

Moritz Hille

Mitglied des Vorstands

Jakob Boretzki

Mitglied des Vorstands

Annika Lidwina Schultheiß

Mitglied mit Stimmrecht im Fakultätsrat

Ihr habt eine Frage? Dann schreibt uns unter doktorandenkonvent∂bgu.kit.edu

Aktuelle Projekte

Flyer zum Beginn der Promotion bzw. des Arbeitsverhältnisses
Zum Beginn der Arbeit am KIT bzw. zum Beginn der Promotion erhält man aus vielen Richtungen eine Menge wichtiger Informationen, z.B. vom KHYS und aus den Promotionsordnungen. Was ist die "Annahme an der Fakultät" und was ist das "Promotionsgesuch". Warum sind sie wichtig? Wer sind meine Ansprechpartner? Antworten zu all diesen und mehr Fragen sollen in Zukunft in einem handlichen Flyer jedem zur Verfügung stehen. Der Beirat der Promovierenden bearbeitet dieses Projekt KIT-weit, während die Doktorandenkonvente der einzelnen Fakultäten die fakultätsspezifischen Informationen beisteuern.
KIT-weite Promovierendenbefragung
Alle drei Jahre werden alle Promovierenden des KIT, sprich alle an einer Fakultät angenommenen Doktorandinnen und Doktoranden, in einer großen Umfrage befragt. Die nächste Umfrage findet dieses Jahr, 2023, statt. Wir setzen uns mit anderen Doktorandenkonventen des KIT dafür ein, dass neue, für uns alle wichtige Themen in dieser Umfrage berücksichtigt werden. Dazu gehören Fragen über die mentale Gesundheit sowie Fragen zum Machtmissbrauch. Darüber hinaus wollen wir den Umfragebogen um andere Fragen kürzen, um die Umfrage generell schlanker zu machen. Wir hoffen, dass wir mit diesem gemeinsamen Projekt einen Beitrag dazu leisten können, die Promotionsbedingungen besser zu erfassen, um diese für alle besser gestalten zu können.
Stellvertretende Sprecherin des Beirats der Promovierenden
Kein Projekt, allerdings eine tolle Nachricht: Christin Kannen, unsere 2. Vorsitzende, ist zur stellvertretenden Sprecherin des Beirats der Promovierenden gewählt worden! Wir wünschen ihr für dieses Amt alles Gute!

Informationen

Immatrikulation für Promovierende
Im Dezember 2021 wurde auch am KIT die Immatrikulationspflicht für Doktorandinnen und Doktoranden eingeführt. Die Immatrikulation ist für alle von einer KIT-Fakultät angenommenen Doktorandinnen und Doktoranden grundsätzlich verpflichtend, es sei denn, diese sind am KIT hauptberuflich tätig und erklären, dass sie nicht immatrikuliert werden wollen. Weitere Informationen erhaltet ihr hier: Klick.
Was genau ist der Doktorandenkonvent?
Der Konvent der Doktorandinnen und Doktoranden der Fakultät für Bauingenieur- Geo- und Umweltwissenschaften (BGU) ist die gemäß § 38 Abs. 7 Landeshochschulgesetz sowie Beschluss des KIT-Senats vom 17.11.2014 der Zusammenschluss aller der an der BGU-Fakultät angenommenen Doktorandinnen und Doktoranden. Der Konvent wählt einmal jährlich in einer Vollversammlung einen Vorstand. Dieser setzt sich aktiv für deren Interessen ein, vertritt diese im Fakultätsrat und in der KIT-weiten Konventerunde und steht allen Promovierenden bei Fragen rund um die Promotion beratend zur Seite.
Mit welchen Anliegen könnt ihr euch an uns wenden?
  • Fragen zur Anmeldung der Promotion
  • Fragen zum Promotionsgesuch und weiteren organisatorischen Schritten
  • Verbesserungsvorschläge über die Rahmenbedingungen der Promotion
Wie finde ich eine Promotionsstelle an der Fakultät?
In der Regel läuft der Bewerbungsprozess direkt über die Institute und die zugehörigen Professoren ab. Sicherlich schadet es auch nicht bei den Stellenanzeigen des KIT nachzuschauen.
Praktische Links

Events

1. Stammtisch im Pfannestiel April 2023
Am Abend des 26. April 2023 fand der erste Stammtisch aller BGU-Doktorandinnen und Doktoranden nach der Corona-Pandemie im Pfannestiel statt. Historisch gab es vor Corona schon einen Stammtisch, allerdings nur unter den Bauingenieuren. Dieser wird ab jetzt vom Vorstand des BGU-Doktorandenkonvents für die gesamte Fakultät organisiert. Wir freuten uns über knapp 25 Teilnehmer, die sich bei netten Gesprächen fachlich und überfachlich ausgetauscht haben. Beim herausfordernden Pfannestiel-Quiz nahmen wir ebenfalls teil. Auch wenn der Quiz-Erfolg am Ende ausblieb, hat der Abend großen Spaß gemacht und wir freuen uns schon auf die folgenden Stammtische!
2. Stammtisch im Pfannestiel Juli 2023
Am Abend des 11. Juli 2023 fand der zweite Stammtisch aller BGU-Doktorandinnen und Doktoranden wieder im Pfannestiel statt. Unterm Schirm haben wir dem Regen im Biergarten getrotzt und mit knapp 20 Teilnehmern einen sehr schönen Abend erlebt. Natürlich konnten wir uns wieder fachlich sowie überfachlich austauschen, über Lehre, Forschung und allerlei Dinge, die im Leben von Promovierenden so relevant sind. Vielen Dank dafür und bis nächstes Mal!
3. Stammtisch im Pfannestiel November 2023
Der dritte Stammtisch aller BGU-Doktorandinnen und Doktoranden fand am 09. November ebenfalls im Pfannestiel statt. Bei ausgelassener Stimmung konnten wir die Arbeit des Vorstands vorstellen, für zukünftige engagierte Mitstreiter werben und uns generell wieder über vielerlei fachliche und nicht-fachliche Themen im Leben von Doktorandinnen und Doktoranden austauschen. Vielen Dank für den schönen Abend, wir freuen uns schon auf das nächste Mal!

Kontakt

Mail an den Vorstand: doktorandenkonvent∂bgu.kit.edu